Joshua Bonehill and Nikki Pilkington – the Aftermath…

Well, it’s certainly been an interesting week 🙂

After being accused of stealing a teddy bear and some flowers from the grave of murdered soldier Lee Rigby, and fighting back in the only way I could, here’s what has and hasn’t happened:

wordpressblog

My Blog

I originally posted the blog linked to above on my own website, http://www.nikkipilkington.com

Within 3 hours it had over 1000 unique views. Unfortunately within 3 hours my website and hosting company were hit with a massive DDoS attack (denial of service) and my site disappeared – coincidence? I think not… My hosting company explained that not only was my site down, the whole server was down (this continued for the next 6 hours with hundreds of thousands of requests being sent to my site in order to ‘crash’ it).

Unfortunately my host was left with no choice but to ask me to leave their service.

I presume this was meant to scare me or make me stop – it didn’t.

Now what?

As soon as we realised that the site wasn’t coming back up anytime soon, Leigh and I formulated another plan. We posted mirror copies of the blog to WordPress, Tumblr and Blogger – try your hardest people, you can’t bring them all down 🙂

Between the 4 versions of the blog, we’ve had over 5000 unique views in 48 hours. The blogs have been shared across Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and beyond. They’ve been posted on Facebook Pages that posted the original blog accusing me of the grave robbery, and linked to from websites that covered the original story.

Thank you to all of you who have shared and tweeted my response – it is very much appreciated.

What HASN’T happened?

So far I haven’t been raped, buggered, murdered or stabbed. My house and car are still intact. My children are still alive and kicking. I haven’t seen a dead man’s penis 🙂

I haven’t had one more negative comment on my Facebook pages or Twitter account since posting the blogs.

I haven’t heard from Mr Bonehill. In fact no-one seems to have. His ‘Daily Bale’ website hasn’t been updated, his Facebook pages and some of his aliases have disappeared. He seems to have gone to ground.

What HAS happened?

I’ve had hundreds of supportive messages across various social media platforms – thank you to you all, I will try to reply to everyone.

I’ve found a new web host and my site should be back up soon 🙂

I’ve had one private message of apology from one of the people who threatened me – that’s right, ONE out of the 100+ messages of hatred I received. Quick to judge, not so quick to apologise I guess. Or maybe they just can’t spell ‘sorry’. There may have been apologies on some of the threads I haven’t yet been able to get around to reading, but I won’t hold my breath too long.

The police are still investigating Mr Bonehill and his known associates, and have profile links and details for all of the people who abused me, along with copies of their comments.

My final thoughts

It may seem that I’ve not taken this very seriously. Trust me I have. Mr Bonehill and his cronies went out to attack me personally and business wise because of a member of my family. When they realised I wasn’t reacting how I ‘should’, they attacked my daughter. They threatened and abused me, and cost me a lot of time and money.

That said, I still find the whole thing quite amusing, especially the response since my blog. Yes, even the DDoS attack, despite what it has cost me in terms of time and downtime.

However, that’s ME. They are out there still, and they’ll attack other people and those people may not take the whole thing in their stride. Online bullying is a serious thing – people have killed themselves because of it. Trying to destroy someone’s reputation, business or otherwise, is not big and it’s not clever. One day it may be one of YOUR family members.

To the people who chose to send the vile messages – I don’t expect an apology from you (although it may help you with the police), but I do ask that you THINK next time you decide to vomit all over someone’s Facebook page / Twitter account / Email. Do some research, ask yourself how likely it is that something is true, and even if it is, will your illiterate threats help the situation or make you feel better? Ask yourself how you would feel if it was your mother / sister / daughter that had to go through what me and my daughter have been through in the last week?

See, I relished checking my messages and emails, because every insult added fuel to my fire. But someone else may dread even switching their computer on – it’s easy to do it when you don’t know the person involved, but one day it could happen to someone YOU know and are close to – not feeling so big and hard now are you?

And finally, thank you to so many people – everyone who has supported me and helped to share the blog post. But most of all thank you to my gorgeous daughter who has kept her head held high despite being attacked herself and seen the whole thing as the farce it is. I’m inordinately proud of how she has dealt with this and hope that everyone who knows her is too. And of course my fantastic partner who, once he had stopped worrying for my safety, saw the funny side too and supported me in dealing with this in my own way. I’m very lucky to be surrounded by such supportive and wonderful people.

This will be my last blog on this subject, unless Mr Bonehill decides on another course of attack, as I have real work to do 🙂

 

22 thoughts on “Joshua Bonehill and Nikki Pilkington – the Aftermath…

  1. You are a legend. Well done.

  2. Brilliant response, Nikki! This situation should just underscore your qualifications. Nicely done! I hope Mr. Bonehill has an enjoyable conversation with HM Constabulary.

  3. You’re a star Nikki !!!

  4. I’ve been following this case due to seeing a link on my Facebook. I’m glad you’ve taken the time to oust the silly boy and stood up for yourself!!I left a few comments on the page that I saw it on telling people to back off 🙂 picked on the wrong person didn’t he 🙂 well done for being so strong.

  5. Well in for standing up to him and helping to get it stopped, you’re clearly not the only person he’s done something like this too and he’ll end up in real bother for this.
    Again, very well done.

  6. I’ve been following this story and it seems to be heading towards the right conclusion, the arest of Bonehill and his cronies. Good for you for sticking to your guns and not giving in to bullies. Good luck for the future……

  7. I really have to commend you for not taking this idiot’s vile actions lying down. You are quite right to say that some people would have dealt with this very differently and I really hope as a result of your bravery that people learn the futility of their stupidity. Well done.

  8. Perhaps the reason why he’s suddenly gone quiet is because he’s ‘helping police with their enquiries’… here’s hoping!

    Anyway, well done to you and your daughter for your massive display of strength and dignity.

  9. Well done for the way you’ve handled all this crap Nikki. I must say, you’d have thought the nutter would have done his research before taking you on, no-one sane would try to beat you at the internet game. Or risk your wrath!

  10. Good on you girl!!

  11. Several people have echoed the comment that he “picked on the wrong person” – truthfully, someone who was not as internet savvy as yourself would have not been able to handle this as well. Good for you Nikki…I think the internet needs folks like yourself who can fight back like this..it still is a bit of a “wild west” platform unfortunately….

  12. Well done for standing upto him, I came across the Bale due to someone asking on a hoax busting site about The Globe story, I do hope the police catch him as from the stories I’ve seen on that Bale site he’s gone and hurt 1 person too many.

  13. Well done Nikki, I hope the police prosecute to the full extent of the law. I wonder how these bullies would be on a face to face meeting – hiding behind computer screens.
    Really feel for you, your daughter, your family and also Lee Rigby’s family who frankly have been through enough, they certainly don’t need some lowlife using their son’s horrific murder to damage another human being!

    Stand firm – you have a lot of support!

  14. good on ya girl thay dont like it up em

  15. You are a shining example of how to deal with petty, pathetic lowlifes who have nothing better to do than cyber bully people. I hope that Mr Bonehill gets exactly what he deserves. It seems pretty obvious that he thinks he’s a ‘big man’ behind a keyboard but doesn’t have the bottle to come out and face up to his actions.

    All that really matters is that the people who know and love you, know that you would never do a thing like that. Shame on you Mr Bonehill, you definitely picked the wrong person to abuse this time!!

  16. Pingback: Joshua Bonehill & Nikki Pilkington | Joshua Bonehill, Nikki Pilkington and Lee Rigby’s grave robbery that never took place

  17. Pingback: Joshua Bonehill & Nikki Pilkington | Another fake Daily Bale story – back to the old favourite, accusing people of being paedophiles

  18. Quite simply a well done for doing the right thing, for not being a walk-over and for aggressively defending your family 🙂

  19. Good on you, great to see the scumbags at the Daily Bale failing miserably. I look forward to the news story which see Bonehill reprimanded.

Leave a Reply

